Crystal Meth Possession Penalties

Possession of methamphetamine, otherwise known as meth, crystal, speed or ice, has harsh consequences in Ohio. While possession of a small amount of meth can lead to simple possession charges, possession of a larger amount can lead to a charge of possession with intent to distribute, which can mean even stiffer penalties. In Ohio, possession of methamphetamine can be divided into five categories depending on the amount that is found in the defendant’s possession. Furthermore, penalties will increase in both state and federal courts if the individual charged with meth possession is arrested around children, or a school zone (including the school property or a school bus). A person arrested for meth possession around children may also get charged with child abuse.

Here’s a brief over view of each categories of methamphetamine possession in Ohio.

Less than three grams

This is a felony of the fifth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six months to a year
    • A judge may order you to enter into a drug treatment program and/or community service in lieu of the prison terms
  • At most, a fine of $2,500
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for sixth months to five years
    • You maybe retain limited driving privileges for purposes such as commuting to work

Three to 14 grams

This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of six to 18 month
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for sixth months to five years
    • You maybe retain limited driving privileges for purposes such as commuting to work

Fifteen to 149 grams

This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A mandatory prison nine month to three years
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for sixth months to five years
    • You maybe retain limited driving privileges for purposes such as commuting to work

One hundred fifty to 299 grams

This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A mandatory prison term of two to eight years
  • A fine of $10,000 to $20,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for sixth months to five years after your release
    • You maybe retain limited driving privileges for purposes such as commuting to work

300 grams or more

This is a felony of the first degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A mandatory prison term of 11 years
  • A fine of $20,000 to $40,000
  • Suspension of your driver’s license for sixth months to five years after your release

In addition to these categories, your sentence may be extended due to the location of your arrest (such as around children or in school zones), whether weapon(s) was discovered with the crystal meth, whether the federal prosecutor’s office will press federal drug charges (more harsh than state drug charges), and other factors.